About us

SETAC AU is a Regional Chapter of the Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry (SETAC) Asia-Pacific geographic unit, established to promote and undertake activities of SETAC in Australasia. SETAC AU is dedicated to the use of multidisciplinary approaches to examine the impacts of chemicals and technology on the environment. The Society also provides and open forum for scientists and institutions engaged in the study of environmental problems, management and regulation of natural resources, education, research and development, and manufacturing and distribution to exchange information and share opinion across nations and disciplines. 

SETAC AU was established in 2011 after members of the Australasian Society for Ecotoxicology (ASE) voted to merge their society with SETAC. SETAC AU has around 300 members which include a vibrant mix of industry practitioners, consultants, academics, regulators and students. Indeed, SETAC AU sees itself as a training ground for current and future scientists and prides itself on providing a strong and supportive environment for student researchers and scientists from developing nations in the region.

We publish a regular newsletter, ‘Endpoint’, with regular contributions and updates from members on local and global issues and events. SETAC AU also publishes the Australasian Bulletin of Ecotoxicology and Environmental Chemistry (ABEEC). The bulletin welcomes Original Research Papers, Short Communications, Review Papers, Commentaries and Letters to the Editors.

Office Bearers
To view current SETAC AU Council Members and Representatives, please click here.

Document Library
To view important SETAC AU document, such as the constitution, roles and responsibilities of office bearers, and recent member surveys, please click here.

Annual Report
SETAC annual reports can be found here.

Annual Reports

Council Members

Position Elected Member Email
President Andrew Harford andrew.harford@environment.gov.au
Vice President Kathryn Hassell kathryn.hassell@rmit.edu.au
Vice President Tom Creswell tom.cresswell@ansto.gov.au
Secretary Suzanne Vardy suzanne.vardy@des.qld.gov.au
Treasurer Munro Mortimer munro@ozemail.com.au
Membership Officer Chantal Lanctôt c.lanctot@griffith.edu.au
Bulletin Editor Reinier Mann reinier.mann@des.qld.gov.au
Communications Officer Darren Koppel Darren.Koppel@curtin.edu.au
Strategic Directions Officer Katelyn Edge Katelyn.Edge@epa.nsw.gov.au
Student Representative Gwilym Price Gwilym.A.Price@student.uts.edu.au

Regional Members

Region Elected Member Email
Australian Capital Territory Julia Jasonsmith Julia.jasonsmith@murrang.com.au
New South Wales Lisa Golding lisa.golding@csiro.au
Northern Territory Ceiwen Pease Ceiwen.Pease@environment.gov.au
Queensland Jason Dunlop jason.dunlop@des.qld.gov.au
South Australia Peter Bain Peter.Bain@sa.gov.au
Tasmania Cath King cath.king@aad.gov.au
Victoria Jackie Myers jackie.myers@rmit.edu.au
Western Australia Monique Gagnon m.gagnon@curtin.edu.au
New Zealand (North Island) Karen Thompson Karen.Thompson@niwa.co.nz
New Zealand (South Island) Sally Gaw sally.gaw@canterbury.ac.nz

What are the benefits
of becoming a member?

As a SETAC member, you can access the membership database, view the SETAC Globe newsletter online, register for SETAC events, access the society’s journals (ET&C and IEAM) and buy books at a discount.



Discover SETAC publications: ABEEC, Endpoint & Our Research



Discover and attend upcoming SETAC events



The latest news, opportunities, awards, prizes and more